What’s wrong Kanto

A travel blog about my short spring holiday trip to Kanto area including, Tokyo, Ibaraki and Kanagawa prefecture.

On the first day I woke up like 4 in the morning to catch the early shinkansen to Tokyo. It’s cheaper to buy a train ticket 21 days beforehand (the service is called Smart EX) . But the condition is to leave before 7 am or between 11am-3 pm.  I guess it’s better to arrive early so I got one of the trains before 7.

And then Tokyo!!!
The capital city, the metropolis.
So…what’s next?

After leaving a baggage at the hotel and walking around Marunouchi,
I left for Shinokubo where I met up with a friend back when I did my masters.
We ate Korean fried and sauce chicken just like the old day.
Then we went to Ebisu Garden Place because it’s a location of my favorite drama,
and Nakameguro just to find out that sakura hasn’t full bloomed yet and
there was a long cue for Starbucks Reserve Rostary that we couldn’t make it inside.

55575998_10155782417375738_4753255214314684416_n

The next day, I took a bus to Tsukuba, a city I used to live for 3 whole years,
to a graduation ceremony of another friend from the same seminar room.
I arrived early because I wanted to walk around here and there,
to the dirty dormitory and some shops I used to visit.

It really was kind of strange walking around like that,
The memory of Tsukuba came rushing when seeing some old things,
It’s like…Did I really even live there? for 3 years? Really?

After taking photos with the graduate, I left for Tokyo.
So…what’s next?

Really, although there’re countless places to visit in the city,
I didn’t find one that’s interesting enough to go.
How can I put this into words?
I found the city quite uneasy, with the crowd and people rushing along.

I ended up going to Asakusa, Sky tree tower and Sumida Aquarium anyway.
The aquarium really surprised me because the exhibition is quite unique,
although it’s not even spacious at all.

On the third day, I made a one day trip to Kamakura.
I believe I’ve written a blog saying I like the sea here.
This time, being on my own, I wandered around freely.
Got on a train some times or walked between stations other times.
My mood lightened up a bit from seeing the beautiful scenery before my eyes.
I went to some cafe and, again an aquarium, Shin Enoshima Aquarium.

The trip ended with the strangest emotion ever.
Like I’ve stated many times, I found Kanto quite uneasy.
Although I like Kamakura a lot, I guess I saw everything I wanted to see this time.

I guess it’ll be quite some time before I’ll make a visit again,
especially Tokyo.

Bye for now.

Leave a comment